A return to (the submission) form

Some time ago I gave myself a list of things to do. Now, barely 6 months since the last murmurings in this particular thread of the ether, I can give some kind of a sensible update!

  1. I have bought a flat. For those of you out there who are considering it, I would recommend it wholeheartedly. The sense of side-stepping fiscal entropy, and being able to make reasonable and mature decisions about your abode without having to run it past a cankerous letting agency is truly euphoric at points.
    For those of you who have already purchased a property, good Christ Almighty isn’t it stressful?! I have discovered all sorts of shockery that is entirely permitted within (perhaps even subliminally encouraged by) English property law. The Scottish system sounds vastly preferable!
  2. 28k words later I have finished Part 1 (of 3) of something that could perhaps be described as a novel. It’s not the one I originally planned to write. It’s something completely different, in fact. I’m not sure if this is a good sign or a bad sign. I often think of it as just a fact; a persistant fact that has currently hit the heady heights of 1/3 of the target. It’ll do.

I’ll see about getting more methodical here too as well. There are lots of things to consider about the writing now, and I feel I have hit a pleasant amble, if not a full stride…

Leave a Reply

