WorldCon 2019 schedule

Only a couple of days until I head to my very first WorldCon (I got into SFF publishing properly late in 2014. I live in London. Insert facepalm emoji here). The last few years have been wild and unpredictable in the best possible ways and that’s all because of the most lovely SFF community.

So heading to Dublin to hang out with friends old and new – and meet some face-to-face for the first time – is A Big Deal for me. Add the fact that it’s the first con I’ll be flying the Titan flag at and, well, eep!

Of course, my schedule has mutated into an all-encompassing beast of terror, so I’ll spend the entire weekend vibrating at a caffeine-induced 5.4MHz and be grabbing fistfuls of any snack I see at events, drive-by style. More importantly, here’s the publishing stuff I’m doing!

Unsung Stories at WorldCon

No stall this year, I’m afraid, so we won’t be selling any books. However, we’ve donated some shiny treats so make sure to check out the freebies table when you get there.

We’ve had so much love from readers and reviewers across the globe, so I couldn’t turn up the chance to say thank you. I remain immensely proud of everything Unsung has achieved, and these authors are well, well worth getting to know.

Non-UK types in particular, this one’s for you because we only distribute from the UK. Get them before they’re gone…

The Titan Party

Friday night is the Titan Party. It looks like it’s going to be utterly immense, and I will take precisely 0.01% of the credit for that. Titan publicists Lydia Gittins and Polly Grice have absolutely nailed this, so this will be my highlight of the con.

Panel – What I Learned Along the Way

Saturday, 17 Aug 2019: 15:00 – 15:50, Wicklow Room-3 (CCD)

Writing is a many wondrous thing filled with highs and lows, but those lows can be really tough to navigate either after a great success or after a lack of success. Rejection is something every writer has to face, but how do writers keep writing in the face of failure? What lessons have they learned along the way? Our panelists share the ups and downs of a writing life.

Aliette de Bodard, Ian R MacLeod, Karl Schroeder (Tor Books) and the mighty Nina Allan

Kaffeeklatsch

Sunday, 18 Aug 2019: 11:00 – 11:50, Level 3 Foyer (KK/LB) (CCD)

I’ve never done a Kaffeeklatsch before. I assume I will be clutching coffee. My German in terrible.

Panel: Getting Published and Staying Published

Sunday, 18 Aug 2019: 13:00 – 13:50, ECOCEM Room (CCD)

You have a two-book deal with a mainstream publisher. Huzzah! So, after those two books, what happens next—not just immediately, but across years. Panelists share their experiences and expectations, offering advice and notes on what they wish they had known.

Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor Books), E. C. Ambrose, Michelle Sagara and Natasha Bardon (HarperVoyager UK)

Leave a comment